Spicy Roasted Chickpeas

11 Jul

Big news, and an easy recipe today. First with the big news, I am now officially a Foodie! I know, I know I have been a foodie for a while now but all of that foodie-ing has been non professional. That has changed, I am now a professional Foodie. My new job title is actually Foodie. What is a Foodie? Well, my job involves talking to people about food all day! I get to share ideas and tips, and help customers navigate the store. How great is that.

With the cooler temperatures we have been having in Austin (by cooler I mean 90 degree days instead of 100).  I decided I could finally try roasting chickpeas. I came across this recipe back in May, but decided today was the day to give it a try since I had some extra chickpeas in the fridge from hummus.

I could not stop eating these after they came out of the oven.  You could just serve them up in a bowl as a snack, toss them on salads, or even add them to a trail mix. A great combination of crunchy and savory to satisfy those cravings for unhealthy snacks. Also, the cayenne gives these a nice kick!

Spicy Roasted Chickpeas

Ingredients:

  • 3 cup chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 3 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne, use more or less to adjust spiciness

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degree.
  2. In medium bowl mix together all the ingredients, until the chickpeas are coated.
  3. Using a rimmed baking sheet pour chickpeas out in a single layer.
  4. Bake on the lowest rack for 25-30 minutes. Turn chickpeas halfway through to ensure even baking. Chickpeas will be done when they are golden and crispy.
  5. Remove chickpeas from pan to a paper towel lined plate and pat off excess oil.
  6. Store leftovers in a zip top bag or air tight container.
5 Responses to “Spicy Roasted Chickpeas”

  1. kitteakat35 July 11, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    yum….recently discovered how good these are for you and how good they taste! thanks for the recipe!

  2. Eat Healthy Be Happy July 12, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    Congrats, Foodie! =)

    I nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blogger award. Go here to check it out:
    http://blogwhatyoueat.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  3. Shira July 12, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    These look amazing! Yours look so simple and delicious – I’ll wait for the weather to cool first though ;) Thanks, I love chickpeas and need to find more ways to enjoy them!

  4. kikimac July 13, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    congrats on the new job! do you still get to sample gelato with the customers?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

