Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

12 Oct

Anyone who knows me, knows I LOVE to bake, and cookies are my specialty! I am always on the lookout for great new cookie ideas, so when I found this recipe post on The Amateur Gourmet blog, it piqued my interest.

I have never made cookies with whole wheat flour before and was very uncertain about how they would turn out.

I have to say that these are the finest chocolate chip cookies I have EVER made!

Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside.

The whole wheat flour adds a nutty and oatmeal flavor to these amazing cookies.

In order for me to keep up with my moderation lifestyle I had to remove these cookies from my home after making them. Because I surely would have eaten all of them in one day!

Knowing my self-control was wavering in the presence of these cookies, I packed them up and took them to work. I was asked for the recipe by almost everyone and was told more than once that they were the best cookie they had ever tasted.

I used Guittard 63% Extra Dark Chocolate Chips, not too sweet but impart an intense rich chocolate taste.

Look at all the grainy goodness!!

These cookies are perfection.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Cookies

adapted from Kim Boyce’s “Good To The Grain”

3 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoon sea salt (fine)

16 tablespoons ( 2 sticks ) cold salted butter, cut into pieces

1 cup packed dark brown sugar

1 cup evaporated cane juice or white superfine sugar

2 large eggs

2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste or pure vanilla extract

8 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips

Fleur de Sel for sprinkling, if desired

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a small bowl add flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt, mix lightly with fork.
  3. Combine butter and sugars in a large mixing bowl or stand mixer. Beat on low-speed for about two minutes, until just blended. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing till incorporated and vanilla.
  4. Add flour mixture slowly and beat till JUST combined. Stop to scrape down bowl.
  5. Add chocolate chips and fold in by hand.
  6. Scoop dough onto prepared pans, leaving 2 inches between each. Sprinkle with fleur de sel if desired.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes, rotating pan halfway through. Cookies will be golden on the edges. Move to wire cooling rack.

2 Responses to “Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. lowercase living October 12, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    These look so good! I tried to do chocolate chip cookies with whole wheat flour once and they didn’t turn out very good, but I’m going to have to give these a try! Thanks. =)

Leave a Reply

