A-mazing Bean and Barley Soup

19 Oct

I woke up this morning to 50 degree temperatures, my first thought was soup. I had a collection of dried beans growing in my pantry, so I threw them in a pot to soak for 8 hours.

I used Appaloosa, Anasazi and Adzuki beans. After soaking, I rinsed the beans and added them to 9 cups of vegetable stock and veggies.

I also threw in this baby. A new Mexican dried chili pepper. I figured since I was trying bean soup for the first time, I would try a dried chili for the first time too. I have to say both new experiences were amazing!

The beans, vegetable and broth cooked for an hour and half. At that point I removed the dried chili and puree half the soup.

I added a diced red bell pepper, spices and a cup of barley to the soup and cooked for another 40 minutes.

After the barley was cooked I added salt and pepper.

This soup is hearty, healthy and absolutely delicious!

Bean and Barley Soup

note any combination of beans will work wonderfully

1/2 cup Appaloosa beans

1/2 cup Adzuki beans

1 cup Anasazi beans

9 cups vegetable or chicken stock

3 carrots, diced

3 celery stalks, diced

1 medium sweet onion, diced

1 dried chili pepper, whole

2 bay leaves

2 teaspoons thyme

2 teaspoons cumin

1 teaspoon cayenne

1 cup pearl barley

1 red bell pepper, diced

2 teaspoon salt, to taste

2 teaspoon pepper, to taste

  1. In a large stock pot add soaked beans, stock, carrots, celery, onion, dried chili, bay leaves, thyme, cumin and cayenne.
  2. Bring to a boil, and then cover and simmer for an hour and half.
  3. Remove chili pepper and bay leaves. Using an immersion blender, puree half the soup. Or remove half the soup and puree in blender.
  4. Add pearl barley and diced red bell pepper. Cook for 30 minutes or until barley is tender.
  5. Add salt and pepper, stir.
  6. Serve and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

