Chicken and Bean Enchiladas

17 Jun

I live in Texas, there for I love Mexican food and Tex-Mex food. So when I went to make enchiladas I knew I had a high bar set before me. As I researched enchiladas recipes I found most used canned or jarred sauce. Now, I am not one to buy a sauce when I can make it, so I researched the spice mixture and I believe I came up with some mighty tasty enchiladas.

My sauce ended up being a mixture of chili powder, oregano, cocoa, tomato paste, brown rice flour and water. This sauce tastes very authentic.

For the filling on these enchiladas I used leftover rotisserie chicken, azuki beans and fresh Anaheim pepper picked from the garden. These were all things I had on hand. I feel the filling for enchiladas can be whatever you want, so experiment and have fun with it.

Assembly is probably the most fun and messiest part of enchiladas, but it is all worth it in the end. Lining the bottom of the baking dish will help seal the seams in place and make the enchiladas easier to remove from the pan.

I topped mine with shredded queso fresco, because it is more authentic and readily available in my area, but feel free to top with any cheese.

These are too good to miss!

Chicken and Bean Enchiladas

makes 12 enchiladas

Ingredients:

enchilada sauce

  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 3 tablespoons brown rice flour
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 6 ounce can tomato paste
  • 3 cup of water

enchiladas

  • 1 1/2 cup shredded chicken
  • 1 1/2 cup cooked azuki beans or black beans
  • 1 Anaheim pepper or jalapeno pepper, diced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 12 5″ corn tortilla
  • 1 cup queso fresco or cheese of choice, shredded

Directions:

enchilada sauce

  1. Place all spices and flour in a small bowl, add just enough water to form a thick paste.
  2. Add spice paste and the remaining water to a medium saucepan, whisk until paste is dissolved in water. Continue to cook until sauce thickens, about 10 minutes on medium heat.
  3. Whisk in tomato paste and cook until sauce is smooth, about 5 minutes.

enchiladas

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

  1. In a deep saute pan heat the olive oil, when the oil is hot add the pepper and cook until soft, around 5 minutes.
  2. Add chicken and beans to the pepper, add the chili powder, cumin, and onion powder. Cook until thoroughly heated and combined, about 6 minutes.
  3. Remove chicken mixture from pan into a bowl.
  4. In a 9 x 13 baking pan coat the bottom with a 1 cup of enchilada sauce.
  5. Heat the tortilla up slightly, either in a pan or in the microwave, just until they are soft enough to fold.
  6. Drag each tortilla in the enchilada sauce to coat one side completely.
  7. Take each tortilla and fill it with around 2 tablespoons of chicken and a tablespoon of cheese. Roll the tortilla up and place it in the pan seam side down. Continue with the remaining tortillas.
  8. Pour the remaining enchilada sauce over top of the enchiladas and then sprinkle with cheese.
  9. Put pan in oven and bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and golden.
  10. Let the enchiladas rest for 5 minutes before serving.
2 Responses to “Chicken and Bean Enchiladas”

  1. livingforjackie June 17, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    I used to live in texas and lived there for 20 years…and I sure miss the great Tex-Mex food! This looks really great! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

