Fiesta Black Bean & Corn Salad

5 Jul

It is summer in Texas, which means it rarely dips below 100 degrees around dinnertime. Because of this heat and the abundance of fresh organic veggies from our garden, we eat salads more nights than not during summer.

I have been experimenting with salad dressings. I have been trying to make them healthier but also more flavorful. Finding the right ratio of flavors can be tricky, it is a trial and error process. The first experiment for a zesty dressing for this salad was a big fail, but I gave it another go and I found success!

I used red bell peppers, red cabbage, red onion, jicama, and romaine for the base of the salad. Then added corn and black beans, baked tortilla strips as garnish and a creamy spicy cilantro dressing t0 bring the whole salad together.

Fiesta black bean and corn salad

serves 4 entree salads

Ingredients:

Salad

  • 6 cup romaine lettuce, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup red onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup red cabbage, shredded
  • 1 cup jicama, julienned
  • 2 cup fresh corn, boiled or roasted on the grill ( removed from cob)
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup cilantro, roughly chopped
  • 5 corn tortilla, cut into thin strips

Dressing

  • 1/2 jalapeno, to taste
  • 1 cup cilantro
  • 3 limes, juiced
  • 4 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 4 tablespoon Greek yogurt 0%
  • 4 drops liquid stevia or any sweetener to taste
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt or to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Place tortilla strips evenly on baking sheet.
  3. Bake tortillas until the slightly curl on the edges and are crisp. Around 6 minutes.
  4. In a large bowl combine all salad ingredients, and toss until combined.
  5. In a blender or food processor add all dressing ingredients and blend until smooth and creamy.
  6. Right before serving garnish salad with tortilla strips, add dressing and toss.

4 Responses to “Fiesta Black Bean & Corn Salad”

  1. livingforjackie July 5, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    looks really good and refreshing

  2. alundeberg July 9, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    I’m looking at your blog, I’m looking at your dishes and recipes, I’m looking at your glasses, and I think we were separated at birth. (I think we even have the same counter top…) So if I may say so, great blog! : ) This salad looks awesome– as I love anything with jicama, red peppers, and black beans. Thanks for stopping by and liking my post!

Leave a comment